flag
In Their Words : The Story of BC Packers
Cannery employees at a 20 years service ceremony
A group cannery employees posing for a photograph during their twenty-year service award presentation at BC Packers Imperial Cannery in 1991. [Back row left to right: Harjit Mangat, Sally Diehl, Minako Nakano, Connie Ikeda, Judy Close, Krish Lingam. Front row left to right: Gurmail Sandhu, Daphne Olenik, Tsuneko Kariya, Jaswant Combough Surjeet Dhami. Bottom centre: Jenny Piatocka.]
City of Richmond Archives 2001-34 Series 7, file 4
Cannery employees at a 20 years service ceremony

BC Packers: The Company, The People

For the better part of the last century, many thousands of men and women spent their working lives in British Columbia’s fishing industry, catching and processing fish for British Columbia Packers Limited [BC Packers].

The Province’s fishing industry attracted people of many ethnic backgrounds. The men and women working for BC Packers on fishing boats and in canneries, whether of First Nation, Chinese, Japanese, Indo Canadian or European ancestry, reflected the multicultural face of the industry.

BC Packers was a large fishing company that was formed in 1902 and operated in British Columbia until it was sold in 1999. The company employed people all up and down the coast from Prince Rupert to Steveston. For many small coastal communities, the BC Packers cannery served as the main employer, the store, the post office and a meeting place for news and gossip. In the more populous centres such as Prince Rupert and Steveston, the BC Packers canneries were enormous factories employing scores of fishermen and shore workers.

During nearly a century of activity, the company and its employees were impacted by significant events in local and world history. As working people went about their jobs day after day, the consequences of unfolding world events such as the Great Depression and World War II were considerable. While working men and women struggled through the economic hardship of the 1930s, BC Packers shifted its business away from a focus on salmon and began catching and processing other fish such as herring. This expansion made possible hundreds of new jobs for fishermen and people in the canneries. With the outbreak of World War II, BC Packers and its employees would see no shortage of work, working literally around the clock year after year to meet the, huge wartime demand for fish products of all kinds.

The Second World War also impacted the company’s employees in other ways. For the many Japanese-Canadians working in the industry, the war led to the loss of their jobs, their boats, their homes and their possessions. They were declared enemy aliens of Canada and interned far from the coast. To fill the vacant positions, BC Packers recruited a whole new workforce. Young men and women answered the call, many of them completely new to fishing and processing, but who would make the most of the opportunity.

The actual jobs performed by working people would also be changed by the war. For fishermen, new wartime technologies made fishing safer and more productive and significantly eased the backbreaking nature of the work. In the canneries and processing plants, the increased production meant more work. Newer and better machines and techniques made the workplace safer.

As BC Packers grew and profited, fishermen and shore workers sought to make their working lives better. The post-war boom saw considerable gains for the Company’s employees. As more and more consumer goods became widely available, the cost of living soared. Trade unions in every industry began demanding higher pay for their members. Strike action became much more common in the fishing industry during these years. Shore workers and fishermen gained increasingly better wages and better working conditions. The United Fishermen and Allied Workers’ Union was formed in 1945. It would prove to be the first viable union in the industry. By the 1960s, all of BC Packers’ fishermen and employees were unionized.

During the 1970s and 1980s, business and work continued as usual for the company and its employees. BC Packers expanded its operations to include interests in Eastern Canada, the United States and abroad. In British Columbia, workers kept on fishing and processing and the Company kept on promoting its famous “Clover Leaf” and “Rupert Brand” products throughout Canada. The company remained a significant employer throughout this period, but by the 1990s the tide was turning.

The year 1990 might be remembered as the ‘last hurrah!’ for BC Packers. The five week Fraser River sockeye run was so large that the company’s Imperial Plant in Steveston employed over 800 workers to process about 1,000,000 lbs of fish a day. Following that, BC Packers and rival Canfisco formed a joint company to process one another’s fish at Canfisco’s Home Plant in Vancouver and BC Packers’ New Oceanside Plant in Prince Rupert. By 1992, the canning lines at Imperial Plant were shutdown after nearly 100 years of operation. Even the fresh and frozen fish operations that had sustained Imperial Plant since the 1960s were eventually shutdown. Only high-end herring roe processing and herring reduction continued. In 1997, Imperial Plant, the crown jewel of the BC Packers empire was closed for good. The sale of the company’s assets in 1999 removed the company from the industry it had commanded for nearly a century.

For the countless men and women who worked for BC Packers over the years, whether fishermen or cannery workers, all of their hard work, their skill at performing their tasks well, and all of their accomplishments are things that they are proud of. Regardless of ethnicity, the stories are the same. If there was fish, you worked. Everyone worked side by side to get the job done. Most people recall their lives in the fishing industry as one filled with good friends, favourite places and the occasional character met along the way. Of course, there were also struggles. The story of BC Packers may be one of business, but it is also the story of working people and their lives in the fishing industry of British Columbia.

clover leaf

flag
Dans leurs mots: L'histoire de BC Packers
Cannery employees at a 20 years service ceremony
Un groupe d’employés de conserverie posant pour une photo pendant la célébration de vingt ans de service à la conserverie Imperial de BC Packers en 1991. [À l’arrière, de gauche à droite : Harjit Mangat, Sally Diehl, Minako Nakano, Connie Ikeda, Judy Close, Krish Lingam. À l’avant, de gauche à droite : Gurmail Sandhu, Daphne Olenik, Tsuneko Kariya, Jaswant Combough Surjeet Dhami. En bas au centre :Jenny Piatocka.]
Archives de la ville de Richmond 2001-34, Série 7, fichier 4
Un groupe d’employés de conserverie posant pour une photo pendant la célébration de vingt ans de service à la conserverie Imperial de BC Packers en 1991

BC Packers : La compagnie et ses employés

Pendant presque tout le siècle dernier, des milliers d’hommes et de femmes ont consacré leur vie active à l’industrie de la pêche de la Colombie-Britannique, capturant et traitant le poisson pour le compte de British Columbia Packers Limited [BC Packers].

L’industrie de la pêche de la province a attiré des gens d’origines ethniques multiples. Les hommes et les femmes de souches autochtone, chinoise, japonaise, indo-canadienne ou européenne qui travaillaient pour BC Packers sur les bateaux de pêche ou dans les conserveries reflétaient le visage multiculturel de l’industrie.

BC Packers, une importante compagnie de pêche fondée en 1902, est demeurée active en Colombie-Britannique jusqu’à ce qu’elle soit vendue en 1999. La compagnie embauchait des gens tout le long de la côte, de Prince Rupert à Steveston. Pour de nombreuses petites collectivités côtières, BC Packers faisait fonction de principal employeur, de magasin, de bureau de poste et de lieu de réunion où échanger les nouvelles et se raconter les derniers potins. Dans les centres plus peuplés, comme Prince Rupert et Steveston, les conserveries de BC Packers étaient d’énormes usines qui embauchaient de nombreux pêcheurs et travailleurs à terre.

Pendant presque un siècle d’activité, la compagnie et ses employés ont été affectés par d’importants événements locaux et mondiaux. Tout en vaquant à leurs activités quotidiennes, les travailleurs subissaient les conséquences considérables d’événements historiques tels que la Crise de 1929 et la Seconde guerre mondiale Alors que ses employés faisaient face aux difficultés économiques des années 1930, BC Packers a cessé d’axer ses activités sur le saumon pour prendre et traiter d’autres poissons, comme le hareng. Cette expansion a créé des centaines de nouveaux emplois pour les pêcheurs et les ouvriers de conserveries. Avec le déclenchement de la Seconde guerre mondiale, il n’y aurait pas pénurie de travail. Au contraire, BC Packers et ses employés allaient œuvrer littéralement 24 heures sur 24, année après année, pour répondre à la demande de produits de poisson de toutes sortes en temps de guerre.

La Seconde guerre mondiale a eu d’autres incidences sur les employés de la compagnie. Pour les nombreux Canadiens japonais oeuvrant au sein de l’industrie, la guerre a entraîné la perte de leurs emplois, de leurs bateaux, de leurs maisons et de leurs biens. Ils ont été déclarés sujets d’un pays ennemi et internés dans des camps loin de la côte. BC Packers a recruté une toute nouvelle main-d’œuvre pour combler les postes vacants. De jeunes hommes et jeunes femmes ont répondu à l’appel. Un grand nombre d’entre eux n’avaient jamais fait ce genre de travail, mais ils allaient profiter au maximum de l’occasion.

La guerre allait aussi modifier les tâches réelles des travailleurs. Les nouvelles technologies mises au point pendant la guerre ont rendu la pêche plus sécuritaire et plus productive et considérablement allégé le travail éreintant. La production accrue dans les conserveries et les usines de traitement a créé plus de travail. Le milieu de travail est devenu plus sécuritaire grâce à des machines et des techniques nouvelles et améliorées.

À mesure que BC Packers se développait et prospérait, les pêcheurs et les travailleurs à terre essayaient d’améliorer leurs conditions de travail. Le boom d’après guerre a généré d’importants gains pour les employés de la compagnie. Le coût de la vie a augmenté avec la multiplication des biens de consommation. Les syndicats de toutes les industries ont commencé à exiger de meilleurs salaires pour leurs membres. Les mesures de grève se sont multipliées au sein de l’industrie de la pêche à cette époque. Les salaires des travailleurs à terre et des pêcheurs ont augmenté constamment et leurs conditions de travail se sont améliorées. L’United Fishermen and Allied Workers Union, créé en 1945, s’est avéré le premier syndicat viable de l’industrie. Dans les années 1960, tous les pêcheurs et tous les employés de BC Packers étaient syndiqués.

Dans les années 1970 et 1980, les affaires et le travail se poursuivaient comme à l’habitude pour la compagnie et ses employés. BC Packers a étendu ses activités dans l’Est du Canada, aux États-Unis et à l’étranger. En Colombie-Britannique, les travailleurs continuaient de pêcher et de traiter le poisson et la compagnie continuait de faire la promotion de ses produits bien connus de marques « Clover Leaf » et « Rupert Brand » partout au Canada. La compagnie est demeurée un important employeur pendant cette période, mais le vent s’est mis à tourner dans les années 1990.

Il se peut qu’on se souvienne de l’année 1990 comme du « dernier hourra » de BC Packers. La remontée de cinq semaines du sockeye du Fraser était tellement abondante que l’usine Imperial a embauché plus de 800 travailleurs pour traiter environ 1 000 000 livres de poisson par jour. Par la suite, BC Packers et son compétiteur, Canfisco ont créé une coentreprise pour traiter les poissons l’un de l’autre à l’usine domestique de Canfisco à Vancouver et à la nouvelle usine Oceanside de BC Packers à Prince Rupert. L’usine Imperial a arrêté ses chaînes de mise en conserve en 1992, après presque un siècle d’activité. Même les services de poisson frais et congelé qui avaient soutenu l’usine Imperial depuis les années 1960 ont finalement été fermés. Seules les activités de réduction du hareng et de traitement de la rogue du hareng haut de gamme se sont poursuivies. En 1997, l’usine Imperial, le joyau de la couronne de l’empire de BC Packers fermait définitivement ses portes. La vente de ses actifs en 1999 a rayé la compagnie de l’industrie qu’elle avait dominée pendant presque cent ans.

Les innombrables hommes et les femmes qui ont travaillé pour BC Packers, que ce soit à titre de pêcheurs ou d’ouvriers de conserverie, sont fiers de leur travail acharné, des tâches qu’ils effectuaient avec compétence et de toutes leurs réalisations. Peu importe l’origine ethnique, l’histoire demeure la même. Quand il y avait du poisson, tu travaillais. Tous œuvraient côte à côte pour que le travail soit fait. La plupart se souviennent de leurs années au sein de l’industrie de la pêche comme d’une vie remplie de bons amis, d’endroits préférés et de vrais numéros rencontrés ici et là au fil des années. Évidemment, il y a eu aussi des luttes. L’histoire de BC Packers est peut-être celle d’une entreprise, mais c’est aussi l’histoire de travailleurs et travailleuses et de leur vie au sein de l’industrie de la pêche de la Colombie-Britannique.

clover leaf